Pre Order!

Cart (0)
  • 日本語
  • English

Ollie Nightingale『Sweet Surrender』LP


(¥4,378 税込)

The price including tax and the price without tax are displayed.Purchases from outside Japan are without tax.
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ollie NightingaleSweet Surrender』LP

Format: LP
Release date:2023/05/17

★First complete limited production
★With obi

The best of 70's Southern Soul! Ollie Nightingale's masterpiece "Sweet Surrender" released in 1973, reissued on LP for the first time in the world!

Ollie Nightingale, lead singer of the vocal group Ollie & The Nightingales, whose only album for Stax (1969) was also excellent, left his masterpiece "Sweet Surrender" for the MGM-owned Pride in 1973. Produced by Gene "Bowlegs" Miller, known for his work with Goldwax, Stax, High, and others, the album features string arrangements by both Bowlegs and James Mitchell, Willie Mitchell's brother. The album is often compared to O.V. Wright, but the high tone voice, which is different from O.V.'s, is a highlight of the album, and the ballads are heart-wrenching and inevitable to cry! The singing on the bluesy and fast-paced songs is also unquestionably excellent and absolutely impeccable. This is one of the best albums representing the Southern Soul of this period.

■Track list

    SIDE A:
  • 1. Here I Am Again
  • 2. I Gave Her Everything But What She Needed
  • 3. It's A Sad Thing
  • 4. Standing On A Promise
  • 5. A Good Woman At Home (Is Better Than Two In The Street)
  • 6. How Far Am I From New York City
    SIDE B:
  • 1. May The Best Man Win
  • 2. I'm In Love
  • 3. I Don't Know Why I Love You
  • 4. I'll Take Care Of You
  • 5. Begging
  • 6. Sweet Surrender